Comparison

Roots Earth and GPSmyCity: the facts

Roots Earth: Audio stories for 5,665 places in 133 cities, 25 countries and 6 regions. The stories are written by local people. GPSmyCity is an app for iOS and Android which, in its own words, brings "travel tips for 1,800+ cities worldwide" and counts "7,000 self-guided walks". The table puts the facts of both side by side; every GPSmyCity fact on this page comes from GPSmyCity's own pages, read on 16 September 2026, and is listed under Sources.

Published 15 September 2026. Markdown: gpsmycity.md

How do Roots Earth and GPSmyCity compare?

FactRoots EarthGPSmyCity
What it covers133 cities in 25 countries across 6 regions"1,800+ cities" worldwide; the App Store title says "Walks in 1K+ Cities"
Cities and places, where published133 cities and 5,665 places"1,800+ cities" and "7,000 self-guided walks"
LanguagesEvery place in all 133 cities has its audio story, a short introduction and a longer story, in all seven languages: English, German, French, Spanish, Italian, Dutch and Albanian.Not stated on their site; the App Store Languages field lists English only
Account neededNo accountNot stated on their site
Plays offlineYes, once a city's audio is downloadedYes (App Store description and site)
Who writes the content, where statedLocal people write the storiesNot stated on their site
PlatformsiOS (App Store) and Android (Google Play)iOS and Android
Store linksApp Store and Google PlayApp Store and Google Play

This page is about Roots Earth, and the Roots Earth app page describes the app.

Every row in full

What it covers

Roots Earth: Audio stories for 5,665 places in 133 cities, 25 countries and 6 regions. Europe: 10 countries, 58 cities and 2,313 places. North America: 2 countries, 10 cities and 467 places. Latin America: 4 countries, 20 cities and 892 places. Africa: 3 countries, 15 cities and 650 places. Asia: 3 countries, 15 cities and 705 places. Oceania: 3 countries, 15 cities and 638 places.

GPSmyCity: GPSmyCity states "1,800+ cities" worldwide, and "670+ cities" for building a custom walk. The App Store title says "Walks in 1K+ Cities". Sources: 1, 2, 3.

Cities and places, where published

Roots Earth: 133 cities and 5,665 places. The counts come from the Roots Earth catalogue snapshot read on 31 October 2026 (2026-10-31T08:21:20.121Z).

GPSmyCity: GPSmyCity counts "1,800+ cities", "7,000 self-guided walks" and "670+ cities" for building a custom walk. Sources: 1, 2, 3.

Languages

Roots Earth: Every place in all 133 cities has its audio story, a short introduction and a longer story, in all seven languages: English, German, French, Spanish, Italian, Dutch and Albanian. Each language covers all 5,665 places.

GPSmyCity: Not stated on their site. The App Store Languages field lists English only. Source: 2.

Account needed

GPSmyCity: Not stated on their site.

Plays offline

GPSmyCity: Yes. The App Store description states "The app is designed to be used offline so No Data Plan or Internet is Needed, and No Roaming either." The site states "No Roaming. No Data Plan Needed" and "Work Offline". Sources: 1, 2.

Who writes the content, where stated

GPSmyCity: Not stated on their site.

Platforms

GPSmyCity: iOS and Android. Sources: 2, 3.

Store links

GPSmyCity: App Store: https://apps.apple.com/app/id417207307. Google Play: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.gpsmycity.iwtmaster. Sources: 2, 3.

Publisher, as the stores show it

Roots Earth: App Store seller: ROOTS SH.P.K. Google Play developer: ROOTS SHPK. The two stores spell the company name differently; it is the same company.

GPSmyCity: App Store seller and Google Play developer: GPSmyCity.com, Inc. Sources: 2, 3.

Sources

Every GPSmyCity fact on this page was read on 16 September 2026 from a page GPSmyCity publishes itself; times are UTC. Where the record of the read does not name which GPSmyCity page a statement is on, the row cites every GPSmyCity page it could be on. Roots Earth catalogue facts: The counts come from the Roots Earth catalogue snapshot read on 31 October 2026 (2026-10-31T08:21:20.121Z). Store facts retain their cited read dates.

  1. https://www.gpsmycity.com: GPSmyCity home page, read 16 September 2026 at 07:05 UTC.
  2. https://itunes.apple.com/lookup?id=417207307,385252771&country=us: GPSmyCity App Store listing, looked up together with GPSmyCity's separate Tirana app (id 385252771), read 16 September 2026 at 07:05 UTC; Apple's lookup service, which returns the listing's published fields.
  3. https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.gpsmycity.iwtmaster&hl=en&gl=US: GPSmyCity Google Play listing, read 16 September 2026 at 07:05 UTC.
  4. https://itunes.apple.com/lookup?id=6772810517: Roots Earth App Store listing, read 24 September 2026 at 08:39 UTC; Apple's lookup service, which returns the listing's published fields.

Roots Earth in short

  • No account
  • Download a city's audio, then it plays without a connection
  • Every place in all 133 cities has its audio story, a short introduction and a longer story, in all seven languages: English, German, French, Spanish, Italian, Dutch and Albanian.

Roots Earth for Android is available on Google Play: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.rootsearth.app. Roots Earth for iOS is available on the App Store: https://apps.apple.com/app/id6772810517.